top of page
Flamazing Home Loans Logo
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • TikTok

Making your mortgage experience FLamazing!


What is required to be eligible for a FHA Loan?

Home Graphic
Consumer Download Guide

To be eligible for an FHA loan as a first-time homebuyer, you generally need to meet the following criteria:

  1. Credit Score: While there's no specific minimum credit score required by the FHA, most lenders typically look for a credit score of at least 580. However, borrowers with a credit score between 500 and 579 may still qualify if they can make a 10% down payment.

  2. Down Payment: The FHA requires a minimum down payment of 3.5% of the purchase price. This can come from your own savings, a gift from a family member, or a grant from a state or local government down payment assistance program.

  3. Income Verification: You need to provide proof of steady income and employment. Lenders typically look at your debt-to-income ratio (DTI), which should generally be below 43%, although exceptions can be made.

  4. Proof of Employment: Typically, you need to show at least two years of steady employment, though exceptions can be made for recent graduates or those who have been out of work due to circumstances beyond their control.

  5. Residency: You must be a legal resident of the United States and have a valid Social Security number.

  6. Property Requirements: The home you're purchasing must meet certain standards set by the FHA. These standards are designed to ensure the safety and soundness of the property.

  7. Financial Responsibility: You must demonstrate a history of financial responsibility, which includes paying bills on time and managing debt responsibly.


Remember that these are general guidelines, and specific requirements may vary depending on the lender and other factors. It's always best to consult with a mortgage lender who can provide personalized advice based on your financial situation.

bottom of page